Endodontics

Root canals and root treatments

What is endodontics?

Endodontics is a specific expertise of Dental Surgery that treats diseases within the tooth. The tooth is made of the enamel, dentin and the pulp. The inflammation or infection of this pulp can occur as a result of decay, trauma, fracture or repeated treatments on the tooth. When the pulp is reached, the bacteria penetrate and spread into the roots, causing necrosis. When the bacteria reach the end of the root, the cellular bone can be damaged: the formation of a bone infection and the long-term creation of an abscess are observed.

Nevertheless, these lesions are not always painful but cause significant bone destruction.
Endodontics is therefore intended to treat these inflammations and infections in order to allow healing of the formed lesions. This helps keep natural teeth for as long as possible.

What is a root-canal treatment?

Endodontic treatment involves removing infection from the dental root. To do this, all the roots are cleaned and disinfected according to a very precise protocol, then the tooth will be closed to ensure the sealing and the durability the treatment. At the end of the procedure, a temporary filling will be placed and your treating dentist will complete the final reconstitution of your tooth.

Once the bacteria are removed, there is no more bone aggression, so it can heal. The healing process can take time (between 6 and 48 months), so a follow-up will be implemented to carry out screening X-rays after several months.

Why do I need a root-canal retreatment?

Sometimes, even if the tooth has already been treated, it can be reinfected. This reinfection can be linked to a very old and sometimes "poor" treatment, which leads to the development of bacteria in the root-canals. The formation of this chronic infection is often asymptomatic.
In this case, endodontic retreatment should be considered to prevent the infection from developing and forming a cyst. After removal of the old sealing material, the complete cleaning and disinfection are carried out. The canals are then sealed, and the tooth reconstruction can be completed.

In some cases, endodontic microsurgery may be considered. This is based on the cleaning of the root infected by direct access. The gum is lifted up to access the cyst that will be removed. The end of the root is cut and the part of the channel then accessible is cleaned and sealed. The gum is then replaced with stitches.

—     Why consult an Endodontist? —

An Endodontist is a dentist specialized only in the root canal treatment. He has extensive knowledge of the anatomy of dental roots, as well as of the protocols and operational techniques specific to Endodontics. Thanks to a specific material and an operating microscope, he can access and treat teeth with complex anatomies, retreat teeth with fractured instruments, and sometimes keep your natural teeth instead of considering dental implants.

Our philosophy is based on a high quality of treatment. Our team is ready to offer you a treatment plan adapted to your needs and the best techniques to achieve an optimal result.

Looking for a dentist specialized in endodontics ?

Make an appointment at The Smile Clinic with doctor Ralph Badaoui and his partners

Endodontie

Dévitalisation, traitement des racines

Qu’est-ce que l’endodontie ?

L’Endodontie est une spécialité de la Chirurgie Dentaire qui traite les maladies de l’intérieur de la dent. Celle-ci est constituée par la pulpe. L’inflammation ou l’infection de cette pulpe peuvent survenir suite à une carie, un traumatisme, une fracture ou encore après des traitements répétés sur une dent. Lorsque la pulpe est atteinte, les bactéries pénètrent et se propagent dans les racines ce qui entraine une nécrose. Lorsque les bactéries arrivent au bout de la racine, l’os alvéolaire peut être endommagé : on observe alors la formation d’une infection de l’os et la création à long terme d’un « abcès ».

Néanmoins, ces lésions ne sont pas toujours douloureuses mais entrainent des destructions osseuses importantes.
L’Endodontie consiste donc à traiter ces inflammations et infections afin de permettre la cicatrisation des lésions formées. Cela permet de garder les dents naturelles le plus longtemps possible.

Qu’est-ce qu’un traitement endodontique ?

Le traitement endodontique consiste à supprimer l’infection contenue dans les racines de la dent. Pour cela, l’ensemble des racines est nettoyé et désinfecté selon un protocole très précis, puis la dent sera obturée pour assurer l’étanchéité et la pérennité de la dent. A la fin du traitement, un pansement sera posé et votre chirurgien-dentiste traitant effectuera la reconstitution définitive de votre dent.

Une fois les bactéries éliminées, il n’y a plus d’agression au niveau de l’os, celui-ci peut alors cicatriser. Le processus de guérison peut prendre du temps (entre 6 et 48 mois), c’est pourquoi un suivi sera mis en place afin d’effectuer des radiographies de contrôle après plusieurs mois.

Pourquoi réaliser un retraitement endodontique ?

Parfois, même si la dent a déjà été traitée, elle peut se réinfecter. Cette réinfection peut être liée à un traitement très ancien, parfois « insuffisant », qui entraine le passage et le développement des bactéries dans les canaux des racines. La formation de cette infection chronique est souvent asymptomatique.
Dans ce cas, le retraitement endodontiques doit être envisagé pour éviter que l’infection ne se développe et ne forme un kyste. Après dépose de l’ancien matériau d’obturation, le nettoyage et la désinfection complets sont réalisés. Les canaux sont ensuite obturés et la reconstitution de la dent peut être terminée.

Dans certains cas, une microchirurgie endodontique peut être envisagée. Celle-ci repose sur le nettoyage de la racine infectée par un accès direct. La gencive est soulevée pour accéder au kyste qui sera retiré. Le bout de la racine est coupé et la partie du canal alors accessible est nettoyée puis obturée. La gencive est ensuite remise en place avec des points de suture.

—     Pourquoi consulter un Endodontiste ? —

Un Endodontiste est un Chirurgien-Dentiste spécialisé uniquement dans cette discipline. Il possède des connaissances approfondies dans l’anatomie des racines dentaires ainsi que dans les protocoles et techniques opératoires spécifiques à l’Endodontie. Grâce à un plateau technique avancé et un microscope opératoire, il peut accéder et traiter des dents aux anatomies complexes, retraiter des dents avec des instruments fracturés et parfois permettre de garder vos dents naturelles au lieu de mettre un implant dentaire.

Vous recherchez un dentiste spécialisé en endodontie ?

Prenez rendez-vous à La Smile Clinic avec le docteur Ralph Badaoui et ses associés